TwitBacks – Create free Twitter backgrounds [Review]

This is a review by teen blogger and tech enthusiast Riley Kaminer (@rileykaminer) on a new service for twitter, @TwitBacks.

twitback.jpg

Overview

Have you ever wanted a great background for your Twitter page that would represent you by having your contact information as well as logos and pictures of yourself, but do you not have the time to create one from scratch because of either lack of ability or time? Are you just not satisfied with Twitter’s automatic backgrounds? If these apply to you, TwitBacks is a great, free, and simple service that can make a customized and stylish Twitter background for you in no time at all. They make backgrounds that you can be proud of each time you link someone to your Twitter account.

How?

Part of the great thing about TwitBacks, a very popular and new company (less than a month old), is the clear-cut simplicity of the service. The first step is to visit their site, TwitBacks.com. Press the “Get Started Here” button and you are on your way.

A great thing about TwitBacks is that [many of] the fields are optional; letting you decide how much information you really want on your profile page. You can currently choose from 23 fresh background bases such as these or upload your own design if you’d like. After imputing all your information—including your applicable websites/blogs, logos, bios, email addresses, and other social networking site usernames such as those of Facebook, LinkedIn, and FriendFeed—you can press continue.

info.png

networks.png

Your imputed email is very important and necessary field because they actually email your completed background to you rather than being able to download it right then and there from the site. When I first did this, I was slightly worried because I didn’t get the email. Halfway through creating a new one, I realized that it had actually gone into my spam folder for my AOL email address. Hopefully in the future, one will be able to download it directly from their site—just not now.

created.png

On the Twitter End

twitter.jpg

Twitter makes it fairly easy to change your background. If you use a third-party application to tweet, then you’ll need to login to the main Twitter site, Twitter.com. Once there on your homepage, head over to the top right hand corner of the site where it says “Settings” and click the link. On the settings page, go to the “Design” tab (which should look a little something like this). Ignore the suggested themes and click on the link to “Change background image.” Then just select the file from TwitBacks and save the changes at the bottom of the page. Finally, just enjoy your custom background!

Comments

  • December 9, 2008

    Excellent find for creating twitter backgrounds. I was searching similar kind of service to give a more professional look and feel to my twitter profile. This service solves my problem.

  • December 9, 2008

    Those are superb. This is something I’ve been procrastinating on, and I find myself using Twitter more and more, so I’m getting one ASAP.

  • December 9, 2008

    Twitbacks is a great service, but I wish they would add a bit more flexibility with design, color and overall tone to the background. If they did this, I would have a twitback (with a link back) immediately.

  • December 9, 2008

    Cool idea. I need one of these.

  • December 9, 2008

    I like the concept of Twitbacks, but didn’t like the fact that their logo is so intrusive on the background. I would likely use their backgrounds if their link info was more at the bottom of the page, instead of at the top.

  • December 9, 2008

    I was playing with this site over the weekend. Wonderful full featured concept. If you can fill out a form and upload a file, you can have a twitback in less time than it takes to launch a graphics application and create your own. For those that want a truly custom background, this is a great place to start for ideas and format. Expect to see lots of twitbacks as this service catches on and becomes a standard.

  • December 9, 2008

    Nice ! Looks like a very handy service.

  • December 9, 2008

    Hi darren even for gmail it is redirected to spam and unnoticed it i deleted all spam and now again i have created another one. I am getting no preview error may be some thing wrong with the process flow. But its a cool way of designing a background.

  • December 9, 2008

    Great web app for twitter backgrounds. I was usually messing around with the original template from @waynesutton on my GIMP (Linux version of photoshop). After that I just took the background off. I might start working on new one as I am changing the theme for my blog Livecrunch.

    Thanks Darren. TTYL>

  • December 9, 2008

    Wow! Thanks for the review Riley. We have some exciting plans for TwitBacks. More customization options like Stuart suggested are in the works, along with a few other things that we will be launching within the upcoming weeks. We didn’t realize so many people were having issues with receiving the email. We are going to change it so you can download before receiving your email.

  • December 9, 2008

    Nice freebie. For those who potentially want more flexibility and customization, you may want to check out tweetpages.com. I have personally seen some great backgrounds from professional to humorous.

  • December 9, 2008

    Awesome! That is an easy way for people to make a nice background for their Twitter account. People are always asking me if I could create them a background but now I will just tell them to go to this site. Great review.

  • December 9, 2008

    Looks awesome! I’m going to give it a shot.

  • December 9, 2008

    i actually discovered and tried twitbacks this past weekend. unfortunately, the text and mail images looked out of alignment, and the overall feel of the background was unsatisfactory for me. oh well. i really wanted to like it.

  • December 9, 2008

    Thanks for this! TwitBacks is really cool, and it was very easy to use and upload to Twitter. My only wish is that it were possible to make the social media links clickable, like for StumbleUpon, Facebook etc since (depending on your browser) the full link location is sometimes covered up a bit. Otherwise, this suits my purposes just fine and FREE is always good! :)

  • December 9, 2008

    This an awesome service. I would have used it if I had known about it earlier. I ended up creating my own background using Photoshop which has seemed to work well.

  • December 11, 2008

    I agree with Snow about their logo being so prominent…but at the same time, it is a free service. If their logo was at the bottom I’d consider using it. Prior to reading this I found http://twitterbacks.com, they have free templates you can use and customize…sans logo.

  • December 11, 2008

    For those of you who want our small “Designed by Twitbacks.com” removed, we offer this option for only $4.99. If you pay for this then it is removed from the background and all future revisions you make to it.

  • July 11, 2009

    Just wanted to give an update. TwitBacks has added a bunch more features since this review. We added a ton of different background styles, added more customization options and even partnered with Picnik allowing you to enhance your background even more using the Picnik tools directly from the TwitBacks site.

  • July 12, 2009

    Excellent! I have been wondering how people like John Chow an Missy Ward have such great backgrounds and it appears that this is the service that they used.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.